Hello, New York. Goodbye Preconceived Notions.

I shit the bed.

Not literally, of course. I’m a refined twenty-something Forex Trader on Wall Street. I have a fairly nice apartment in Manhattan, drink imported beer, and skim the Financial Times once or twice a week. Guys like me use the restroom.

The reality is that despite my “impressive” job title, I don’t make any money. I pay my expenses using the left over savings from online poker winnings. I haven’t played in over two years and that money is dwindling at a rapid pace. But that’s okay.

This city life is brand new. I moved here less than a year ago when I found my job. Sometimes I have a blast. Sometimes I spend the day with a lump in my throat and intense pains in my chest. Some days I suffocate. Some days I breathe. Some days I smile. Every day is an adventure. Every day is something new. I’ve decided to keep a blog because the ideas, thoughts, and learning experiences are so numerous.  I can’t keep it to myself.

Downtown Manhattan - This is my neck of the woods.

Still, I’m not sure which direction this blog will take. I will mostly avoid stuff about my specific job. I’d rather reflect on some of my entrepreneurial pitfalls, lifestyle choices, and business experiences – the ones that mattered.

I’ve named this blog “The Meshaya Diaries” for a reason. That is, some of this stuff is personal. Sometimes we’ll focus on my crappiest moments. But the fact is that everybody spends time on the crapper, and nothing helps pass the time like reading on the toilet.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!
Follow MeshayaMan on Twitter

Posted on May 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

